RMS Holiday Community Meeting

Rindge Memorial School’s (RMS) recent community meeting celebrated student music, academic accomplishments and positive character. Woven throughout the community meeting was the celebration of selfless acts that uplifted others.


Student Music

The community meeting opened with musical performances by 5th grader, Abigail Quill, and the 2nd grade’s performance of “Don’t Laugh at Me.” Abigail wrote her song using school vocabulary words. Her inspiration for the song came from art depicting layers of sadness and the emotions she felt after losing someone close to her. Second grade students learned American sign language to deliver the poignant message of acceptance and respect for people different than ourselves. Don’t Laugh at Me, was a collaborative performance produced with the assistance of Ms. Brown, Mrs. Aucoin and Mrs. Rainey. Other musical performances included holiday songs by the RMS Chorus and and 4th grade.


RMS Chorus Conducted by Mr. Murphy


Academic Awards

Ms. Hanley presented awards to thirty students for achievement in mathematics. Students were encouraged for their effort as well as their academic progress and growth.


Math Award Recipient Lydia Clark

Math Award Recipients: CLICK HERE


Cheers erupted in the gymnasium when the fourth grade was announced as the winners of the Reading Challenge. The Reading Challenge Award is given to the grade that logs the most reading minutes. The fourth grade, who  logged 30,790 minutes, will receive a popcorn and movie party. The Reading Challenge also included an individual raffle. Winners received a gift certificate to the Toadstool Bookstore.

Individual Reading Challenge Winners (Saidy Royal, Mackenzie McFarland,Mia Lambert, Connor Egan, Rylee O’Neill, Timothy MacKay)Received Gift Certificates To The  Toadstool Bookstore


Step Up Awards

Step Up Awards are given to students who demonstrate service and personal character above and beyond typical school expectations. Students receiving the Step Up awards were nominated by others for demonstrating courage, compassion and empathy in their daily lives. Recipients included a student who overheard a friend discussing her family’s financial struggles. The student decided to give her friend the money she earned from raising chickens. Other stories included students who decided to include peers who were eating or playing alone. Students were recognized for assisting teachers and fellow students without being asked. Hunter Beauchemin was honored by Officer Horne for demonstrating personal courage in completing the hike to the summit of Mount Monadnock.

Hunter Beauchemin Received Step Up Award From Officer Horne


Taylee Normandin was the recipient of Jaffrey-Rindge Rotary Step Up award. During RMS Principal, Kelly Marcotte’s award speech she described Taylee:


Taylee is not only a productive student she is also a valued friend and role model to her peers. As a learner Taylee embraces student knowledge through, listening, thinking, asking questions, and independently applying skills and concepts. As a member of our school community Taylee shares her greatest gifts: kindness, empathy, honesty, thoughtfulness and humor. Whether making mistakes or achieving successes; when interacting with friends or supporting peers through difficult moments; it is then that Taylee truly and sincerely shares with us the beautiful young lady she is becoming. I am very proud of Taylee.


Taylee Normandin Received Step Up Recognition From The Jaffrey-Rindge Rotary and Principal, Kelly Marcotte


Principal Marcotte gave the final Step Up award to the Kindergarten team. The Kindergarten team requested donations in lieu of holiday classroom gifts to donate to a kindergartener facing health challenges. In just a few days the team raised $800 dollars. Principal Marcotte stated, “The generosity in this community is amazing.” The next RMS community meeting will be scheduled for the end of February. For more pictures and video of the day visit: https://www.facebook.com/JaffreyRindgeSchools/

Kindergarten Team (Mrs. Bell, Mrs. Lambert, Mrs. Stevens,Mrs. Thompson) Received a Step Up Award


Step Up Award Recipients:CLICK HERE


Kimberly Sychterz